Structural Biology/Biochemistry Seminar Series (Click to see Calendar View)

The Structural Biology/Biochemistry Seminar Series brings in notable scientists to share their research with faculty and students during Fall and Spring semesters.

Date Time Location Event
Tue 25 Sep 2018 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Richard Benninger Seminar
University of Colorado, Denver; Host: Dr. Richard Bertram
Emergent multicellular dynamics of the endocrine pancreas
Thu 27 Sep 2018 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Dongsheng Cai Seminar
Albert Einstein College of Medicine; Host: Dr. Amy Sang
Hypothalamic Inflammation in Metabolic Syndrome and aging
Tue 02 Oct 2018 11:15 AM KLB 112 Jeffrey Ellison Seminar
FSU - Biochemistry Graduate Program; Major Professor: Dr. Wei Yang
Mapping Long Timescale Molecular Dynamics
Tue 16 Oct 2018 11:30 AM KLB 112 Steven Austin Thesis Prospectus Defense
FSU - MOB Graduate Program; Major Professor: Dr. Wei Yang
Investigating Collective Functional Motions: A Simulation Study of TEM-1 Beta-lactamase
Tue 23 Oct 2018 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Vincent Luca Seminar
Moffitt Cancer Center; Host: Dr. Beth Stroupe
Catching” Notch signaling in the act - structural and mechanical perspectives on Notch-ligand engagement
Tue 30 Oct 2018 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Theo Vo Seminar
FSU; Host: Dr. Bertram
French Ducks Roam Free Across Your Brain
Tue 06 Nov 2018 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Jerome Irianto Seminar
College of Medicine FSU; Prof. Piotr Fajer
Constricted migration of cancer cells leads to DNA repair factor loss and genomic aberrations
Tue 13 Nov 2018 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Michael Harris Seminar
University of Florida; Host: Dr. Robert Silvers
Altered (transition) States: Comparison of ribozyme and ribonuclease catalysis at the level of transition state structure reveals unique features relative to non-enzymatic catalysis
Tue 04 Dec 2018 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Yizhi Jane Tao Seminar
Rice University; Host: Dr. Hengli Tang
The Tale (Tail) of the Nematode Virus Orsay
Tue 18 Dec 2018 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Michelle Parvatiyar Seminar
FSU; Host: Dr. Bryan Chase
Recruitment of Sarcolemma Proteins by Sarcospan Rescues Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy Associated Cardiomyopathy
Tue 15 Jan 2019 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Natalie Ahn Seminar
University of Colorado, Boulder; Host: Dr. Fanxiu Zhu
The Importance of Dynamics for MAP Kinase Activation and Inhibitor Design
Tue 22 Jan 2019 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Dean Myles Seminar
Oak Ridge National Laboratory; Host: Dr. Beth Stroupe
Neutron Biophysics: From Atoms to Cells
Tue 29 Jan 2019 11:15 AM KLB 112 Joshua Santiago and Johanna Papa Seminar
FSU - Biochemistry Graduate Program; Major Professor: Dr. Brian Miller
Protein Archaeology: Using Reconstructed Ancestral Proteins to Understand the Evolution of Glucokinase Regulation by Its Regulatory Protein. Additional Regulatory Role of 6-Phosphofructo-2-kinase/ Fructose 2, 6-Bisphosphatase?
Thu 31 Jan 2019 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Chih-Yen King Seminar
Institute of Molecular Biology, Academia Sinica; Host: Prof. Donald Caspar
The very many [PSI] prion strains: implications for protein folding
Tue 05 Feb 2019 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Dylan Murray Seminar
University of California, Davis; Host: Prof. Fajer
"A molecular view of RNA granule assembly"
Thu 28 Feb 2019 11:15 AM KLB 112 Prof. Anthony Watts Seminar
University of Oxford; Host: Prof. Piotr Fajer
Multiscale spectroscopies for understanding GPCR mediated cell signalling
Mon 11 Mar 2019 03:15 PM KLB 112 Louis Colling Thesis Prospectus Defense
FSU - MOB Graduate Program; Major Professor: Dr. Debra Fadool
Sniffing Out the Role of the Olfactory Bulb in Metabolism
Tue 12 Mar 2019 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Hazel Levy Biochemistry Seminar
University of Florida; Host: Dr. Beth Stroupe
The multifunctional icosahedral capsid proteins of small, single-stranded nucleic acid (ssNA) viruses.
Wed 13 Mar 2019 01:00 PM KLB 112 Shirin Kamalaldinezabadi Thesis Prospectus Defense
FSU; Major Professor: Dr. Brian Miller
Resurrection of Ancestral Enzymes to Get Insights into the Emergence and Evolution of a New Regulatory Mechanisms
Thu 14 Mar 2019 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Erica Ollmann Saphire Seminar
Scripps Research Institute; Host: Dr. Hengli Tang
Structure and Beyond against Emerging Infectious Disease
Tue 26 Mar 2019 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Xiaoqin Zou Seminar
University of Missouri; Host: Dr. Wei Yang
Novel strategies for predicting protein interactions with application to structure-based drug design
Tue 02 Apr 2019 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Steven Ludtke Seminar
Baylor College of Medicine; Host: Dr. Scott Stagg
Title:
Thu 04 Apr 2019 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Keith Knutson Seminar
Mayo Clinic Florida; Host: Dr. Amy Sang
Vaccines for Prevention and Treatment of Cancer
Tue 09 Apr 2019 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Yifan Cheng Seminar
University of California, San Diego Dr. Taylor
Structure of TRP channels by single particle cryo-EM
Thu 18 Apr 2019 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Vijay Rangachari Seminar
University of Southern Mississippi; Host: SECS
Proteins in Neurodegenerative Pathologies: Disorder, Aggregation and Phase Separation
Tue 23 Apr 2019 11:15 AM KLB 112 Don Caspar Lecture – Dr. Bridget Carragher
Columbia University Dr. Scott Stagg
Challenges and Opportunities for Automated Cryo Electron Microscopy
Tue 30 Apr 2019 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Randy Stockbridge Seminar
University of Michigan Dr. Brian Miller
Nature’s Minimalist Membrane Transport Proteins