IMB Faculty

These eleven faculty members and their labs are housed in the Kasha Laboratory Building at the Institute of Molecular Biophysics. They are a group of scientists from the departments of Biological Science, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Mathematics and Physics who often collaborate to realize the goal of a truly interdisciplinary Institute, and all are Molecular Biophysics (MOB) Graduate Faculty.

Other faculty, whose research encompasses an area of Biophysics, are housed in other buildings in the Science Complex, with interactions and collaborations occurring frequently. They are also available to mentor to students in the MOB Program.

See the Molecular Biophysics Faculty page for a full list of Biophysics professors, their departments and their research interests.

P1030597-origDr. Peter Fajer
Director, Institute of Molecular Biophysics
Professor of Biological Science | Profile
Research Website
Office: 501 KLB   Lab: 510 KLB
Telephone: 850-645-1337
pfajer@fsu.edu
Biophysics of motor proteins; EPR spectroscopy
Bertram, RichardDr. Richard Bertram
Professor of Mathematics  | Profile
Research Website
Office: 402 KLB
Telephone:  850-644-7632
bertram@math.fsu.edu
Computational structural biology, neuroscience and physiology
Li, HongDr. Hong Li
Director, Molecular Biophysics Graduate Program
Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry | Profile
Research Website
Office: 207 KLB   Lab: 210 KLB
Telephone: 850-644-6785
hong.li@fsu.edu
Structural mechanisms of gene expression and regulation; protein-RNA interactions.
P1060187-orig - Copy (2)Dr. Tim Logan
Professor and Chair of Chemistry and Biochemistry | Profile
Research Website

Office: 502 KLB  Lab: 517 KLB
Telephone: 850-644-8979
tlogan@fsu.edu

Metabolism; Metabolomics

Stagg, Scott-1

Dr. Scott Stagg
Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry | Profile
Research Website
Office:  507 KLB   Lab: 519 KLB
Telephone: 850-645-7872
sstagg@fsu.edu
Cryo-electron microscopy studies of COPII coated vesicles

Stroup 2013 - CopyDr. Beth Stroupe
Associate Professor of Biological Science | Profile
Research Website
Office:  202 KLB   Lab:  217 KLB
Telephone:  850-644-1751
mestroupe@bio.fsu.edu
Exploring the structure and function of macromolecular machines involved in nuclear processes
Taylor, Ken Dr. Ken Taylor
Professor of Biological Science | Profile
Research Website
Office: 320 KLB   Lab:  322 KLB
Telephone:  850-644-3357
taylor@bio.fsu.edu
Muscle contraction: 3D electron microscopy and reconstruction methods
Yang, WeiDr. Wei Yang
Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry |Profile
Research Website
Office:  418A KLB   Lab:  418 KLB
Telephone:  850-645-6884
yyang2@fsu.edu
Simulation and modeling of complex biological phenomena; computational biophysics
Dr. Qian Yin
Assistant Professor of Biological Science
Research Website
Office:  506 KLB   Lab:  517 KLB
Telephone: 850-644-4424
yin@crystal.harvard.edu | qyin@fsu.edu
Structural Biology, immunology, biochemistry
Dr. Huan-Xiang Zhou
Professor of Physics | Profile

Research Website
Office:  419A KLB   Lab:  419 KLB
Telephone: 850-645-1336
hzhou4@fsu.edu
Computation and experimentation on protein association, ion channels, and macromolecular crowding
DLDCaspar3Dr. Donald L.D. Caspar
Professor Emeritus of Biological Science
Research Website
Office:  307 KLB
Telephone: 850-644-5522
dcaspar@fsu.edu
Structural biology, x-ray, neutron, and electron diffraction and protein plasticity