IMB and MOB — In the News

Professors Scott Stagg and Kenneth Taylor has received a $5 million grant that will be used to construct the Southeastern Center for Microscopy of MacroMolecular Machines, or the SECM4 at Florida State University.

Professors Scott Stagg and Kenneth Taylor are faculty members at the Institute of Molecular Biophysics and Department of Biological Science. With this center, FSU will become premier place for cryo-EM in the Southeastern US. More at A & S News >>

Professor Richard Bertram, a faculty member at IMB, a two-time FSU alumnus, and Director of the FSU Biomathematics Program, has been named a fellow of the Society for Mathematical Biology. This international honor was granted in recognition of his career as a pioneer in math and biology research.

Richard has collaborated with more than 200 people in various fields and has been hallmark of his thirty-year career at FSU and IMB. Richard will receive the honor at the 2023 SMB Annual Meeting in Ohio. More at A & S News >>

Louis Kolling’s work from the Fadool lab “Modulating the Excitability of Olfactory Output Neurons Affects Whole-Body Metabolism” is featured in the cover of the Journal of Neuroscience.

His work is also featured in the “This Week in the Journal” section of the journal.

Pancreatic β-cells (bottom) respond to glucose (yellow spheres) by releasing insulin (purple spheres) in pulses with a, ~5-min period (oscillations above cells). In high glucose (red curves), pulses are driven by oscillations in cytosolic calcium entering from outside the cell (red spheres, producing oscillation inside cell). In basal glucose, insulin pulses have similar frequency but reduced amplitude. Calcium oscillations are too small to drive secretion (blue oscillation inside cell), which we propose are driven by metabolic oscillations. This is analogous to a hybrid car powered by the gas engine at high speeds but an electric motor at low speeds. From: Fletcher PA, Marinelli I, Bertram R, Satin LS, Sherman AS.Physiology 37: 214-221, 2022. doi:10.1152/physiol.00044.2021