2013 Fall Biophysics Seminars

Fall 2013 Structural Biology/Biochemistry Seminar Series

Date Time Location Event
Tue 10 Sep 2013 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Anna Panchenko Seminar
NIH, Nat’l Center Biotechnology Information, Host: Dr. Peter Fajer
Impact of cancer mutations on protein binding and activity
Tue 17 Sep 2013 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Christian Metallo Seminar
UC-San Diego, Host: Dr. Tim Logan
Understanding cell physiology using isotope tracers and metabolic flux analysis
Tue 24 Sep 2013 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Andrew Miklos Seminar
FSU; Dr. HX Zhou Group
Impact of macromolecular crowding on protein-ligand binding
Tue 01 Oct 2013 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Eberhard Voit Seminar
Georgia Tech, Host: Dr. Richard Bertram
Strategies for multi-scale modeling of biological systems
Tue 08 Oct 2013 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Darin Rokyta Seminar
FSU, Biological Science
Molecular adaptation in viruses and venoms and the genotype-phenotype-fitness map
Tue 15 Oct 2013 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Gary Daughdrill Seminar
Univ. of South Florida, Host: Dr. HX Zhou
Structure, function and evolution of intrinsically disordered proteins
Tue 22 Oct 2013 11:15 AM KLB 112 K. Fredrickson Student Seminar
FSU Chemistry Student
“Biofunctionalization of Quantum Dots for Controlled Cellular Therapy”
Tue 29 Oct 2013 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Andrew McCulloch Seminar
UC San Diego, Host: Dr. Bryant Chase
“Myofilament Regulation and Mechanics in Heart Failure”
Tue 05 Nov 2013 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Steven Schwartz Seminar
Univ. of Arizona, Host: Dr. Wei Yang
Protein dynamics and enzyme function: theory and experiment
Thu 07 Nov 2013 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Cindy Schulenburg Seminar
ETH Zurich, Laboratory of Organic Chemistry Host: Dr. Brian Miller
Impact of protein flexibility on protein evolution
Tue 12 Nov 2013 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. David Meckes Seminar
FSU College of Medicine
Oncogenic herpesviruses modify the cargo and functions of exosomes released from host cells
Thu 14 Nov 2013 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Christoph Giese Seminar
ETH-Zurich, Institute for Molecular Biology and Biophysics, Host: Dr. Brian Miller
Type 1 pili from Escherichia coli: assembly and stability of ultra-high-affinity protein polymers
Tue 19 Nov 2013 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Anant Paravastu Seminar
Chemical & Biomedical Engineering & MOB Faculty, FSU
The Pros and Cons of β-Sheet Formation: Insights from Solid-state NMR
Tue 26 Nov 2013 11:15 AM KLB 112 Hanaa Hariri & Ryan Riskowski Student Seminars
FSU MOB Students
Hariri: “Investigating the mechanism for membrane remodeling and vesicle scission by Sar1 protein during COPII-mediated protein trafficking” and Riskowski: “Leaving FRET Behind, Predicting the Size-Enhanced Energy Coupling Between a Metal Nanoparticle and an Emitting Dipole”
Tue 03 Dec 2013 11:15 AM KLB 112 Dr. Marcello Forconi Seminar
College of Charleston; Host: Dr. Brian Miller
Micellar catalysis as a benchmark for de novo enzymes